Redford Conservancy

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 3rd November 2019

<u>Welcome</u> - Members and guests were welcomed to the meeting by the Chairman, Anton Wolfaardt. He introduced the committee members and thanked them for their service to the Conservancy.

<u>Minutes for the 2018 AGM</u> - these were accepted: proposed by Lizette van Huyssteen, seconded by Inez Jamieson.

Chairman's Report (full report available if required)

Anton opened by reminding the meeting that the Redford Conservancy is now 14 years old.

He continued with the following points:

- The steady focus of the Redford Conservancy on the management of invasive alien vegetation with mention of the current status and involvement of SANParks in this matter, which has been substantially more positive in the last year, with funds once again having been allocated for the clearing projects.
- The importance of support for private landowners who have undertaken the clearing of their own properties, for example by providing them with technical advice on best practice approaches to the management of invasive alien vegetation.
- A commendation of the Alien Vegetation Sub-Committee of Colleen Noble, Inez Jamieson and Sean MacBean for their ongoing involvement in the clearing matters, and in the regular work on the verges of Redford Road.
- A vote of thanks to SANParks, and especially Maretha Alant for their support, guidance and help in conservation matters.
- Mention of the collaborative relationship with the Crags Fire Management Unit, and the successful controlled burn at Paardevlakte.
- The close relationship that the RC has with the Plett Enviroforum, and by extension the Bitou Municipality.
- Extra signage has been provided with information on Recycling pickups.

Events (full reports available if required)-

Jane Luck and Pru Bolus presented a brief overview of various events held in the past year, and stressed their enjoyment of the organisation of the events.

<u>Treasurer's report</u> (Presented by Lizette van Huyssteen - spreadsheet detail available if required) –

- Balance in the bank at 20.01.2019 R10919.29
- Subscriptions for 2019 R3120.00
- > Donations R0.00

- Cash deposits to bank R1210.00
- Petty cash R800.00
- Petty cash expenses R1700.00
- Interest on bank account R0.00
- Less expenses R1581.10
- Total available at 31.10.2019 R13668.19
- It was suggested that the subscription fees for 2020 remain at the same level as 2019 proposed by Anton Wolfaardt, seconded by Lizette van Huyssteen.

Committee election -

All the committee members are available for re-election, and this motion was carried by the membership. In addition, Sharon van Hees nominated Wania van Wyk to the committee – this was also accepted.

General matters -

- Helen Mudge suggested a book reading from "Wilding" by Elizabeth Tree.
- Pru and Lizette spoke of corridors for animal movement throughout Redford, which are of great value but being reduced in area year by year as more farms are enclosed with high / electric fences.
- Anton added that road signage for animal movement is very important.
- Colleen asked to be informed of any special animal sightings.
- A question was raised about invasive alien vegetation being cleared in high areas – what about the follow-ups?
- A question on the success of the Buffer project was answered by the following: The Redford assessments have been done, but no reports are available yet.
- When Pru asked how to protect staff from baboons, Rolf Luck suggested the use of birdshot to deter them, but Anton made it clear that more responsible management techniques are required. Ken Rowney added that one has to study one's enemy to know what one is dealing with, and to come up with practical solutions.

The main part of the meeting was closed after that, and Anton introduced Dr Louw Claassens of the Knysna Basin Project for a presentation on "Turning the Tide on the conservation of Seahorses in South Africa". It turned out to be a lively, informative session on the survival of these small "critters", with many photographs and a privileged inside-look into how they are being monitored and protected.

A bring-and-share supper was enjoyed by all afterwards.

Attendance: Inez and Norman Jamieson Anton and Leigh-Anne Wolfaardt Colleen and Clive Noble Lizette van Huyssteen Neil and Sharon van Hees Wania and Fouche Eija Andrejev Miila Kauppinnen Robin Stott Jane and David Rosenthal Gaby Bland Barbara de Bruyn Jane Pohl Helen Mudge Nicky Frootko Felicity and Graeme Young Ken and Ros Rowney Jane and Rolf Luck Pru Bolus Gina Larson Michael Simpson Apologies: David Collett

Elbie Burger Mike Griffiths Emma Irvine Timothy Twidle Bep and Piet van der Pluijm Corry Herk Carol and Charles Levin Sean MacBean Joyce and Vaughan Griffin Mervyn and Jean Prior Richard Bolus