SPORTS AWARDS DINNER 2013

TROPHY RECIPIENTS

These awards are made to the player who has made to the most significant contribution to that sport, both on and off the field. They recognise sporting prowess and achievement, as well as a player's commitment. The awards are decided on by the respective coaches and are based on specific criteria. Awards are as follows:

Chess	The Abbott Trophy for the Most improved Chess Player	Lunga Mnisi
	Player Player of the Year	Simon Attwood
Climbing	The Manicom/Nel Trophy for the Most Improved Climber	Matthew Bezuidenhout & Leighton Reid-Davis
_	The Jacobs Trophy for the Strongest Climber	Andre Nel
Cricket - Boys	The Spear Bat for Senior Cricketer of the Year	Jason Chandler & Hadrick Coertze
	The Innes Trophy for the Junior Cricketer of the Year	Alex Wright
<u>Cricket -</u> <u>Girls</u>	The Senior Cricketer of the Year - donated by 2010 parents	Jesse Coertzen
	 The Junior Cricketer of the Year - donated by 2010 parents 	Jene Carstens
Golf	The Golfer of the Year Award	Alex Maldovanos
Hockey - Boys	The Pingo Trophy for the Senior Boys Hockey Player of the Year	Bryan Pingo
<u> </u>	The Tilly Trophy for the Junior Boys Hockey Player of the Year	Josh Mommen
Hockey - Girls	The Ferri Trophy for the Senior Girls Hockey Player of the Year	Aliza Liebenberg & Thandi Nxumalo
	The Middleton Trophy for the Junior Girls Hockey Player of the Year	Mandisa Sigudla

	The De Jong Trophy for the Girls Goalkeeper of the Year	Roxy Loocke
<u>MTB</u>	The Schofield/Clarke Trophy for the Male MTB Cyclist of the Year	Dylan Nortje
	The Mankele Trophy for the Ladies MTB Cyclist of the Year	Kirsten Gillespie
<u>Netball</u>	The Bethwaite Trophy for the Senior Netball Player of the Year	Wilke Blom
	The Nel Trophy for the Most Improved Senior Netball Player	Lindiwe Khoza
	The Bester Trophy for the Most Enthusiastic Player	Fiona Moya
	The Hammond Trophy for the Junior Netball Player of the Year	Karla Olivier
Rugby	The Wicht Trophy for the Senior Rugby Player of the Year	Lucas Burger
	The Olivier Trophy for the Junior Rugby Player of the Year	Tylor James
<u>Soccer -</u> Boys	The Senior Boys Soccer Player of the Year	Michael Nkosi
	The Junior Boys Soccer Player of the Year	Brighton Maduwana
<u>Soccer -</u> Girls	The Senior Girls Soccer Player of the Year	Jessica Bishop
	The Junior Girls Soccer Player of the Year	Tiffany Chapler

<u>Eagle Trophies</u> are awarded to players from all sporting codes who have represented the First Team on 50 occasions:

Girls Hockey

- Andrea Koch & Chanelle Rikhotso

Boys Hockey

- Bryan Pingo & Matthew Shum

Boys Cricket

- Bryan Pingo & Jason Chandler

Rugby

- Lucas Burger & Michael Nkosi

Soccer

- Nathi Nhlapo, Munya Mwaruta, Michael Nkosi

An Eagle Trophy is also awarded to **Bryan Pingo** for being only the second scholar in the school's history to have represented Mpumalanga in Hockey for 5 consecutive years.

Finally, the premier awards of the evening,

The Penryn College Sportswoman of the Year Aliza Liebenberg

- Captained Penryn 1st team in Cricket, Athletics and Swimming
- Represented Penryn 1st team in Hockey, Cricket, Athletics and Swimming
- Senior Victrix Ludorum at Inter House Athletics for the past 3 years

The Penryn College Sportsman of the Year Bryan Pingo

- Represented Mpumalanga u18A Hockey
- Captained Penryn 1st Cricket and Hockey teams
- Represented Penryn 1st team at Hockey, Cricket, Rugby, Athletics and Swimming
- Senior Victor Ludorum at Inter House Athletics in 2011 and 2012